Inspiring, Teaching and Leading!

Posted on

Dear Staff:

A few weeks ago, while driving to work, there was an unusual amount of road construction going on and I needed to take an alternative route that led me through an office Park. Noticing and reading many of the business signs, one in particular caught my attention.  I forget the name of the business, but what it said under the sign was thought-provoking; it stated, “Inspire to the Next Level.” This slogan was on my mind for the remainder of my drive to work.   What was the company trying to communicate? What do they actually produce? What is their service? What is the next level?

Immediately after pondering these questions, the thought of what it would say under our LABBB sign was stirring in my head. How should we define our educational organization? What is our slogan?  Thinking out-loud the words started to come….. Inspire…Inspire, Teach…Inspire…Teach…Ahhh…Inspire, Teach, Lead…No…Inspring, Teaching, and Leading, that’s it! Was this original? Does anyone else use this? It didn’t matter, it is a fact that LABBB from Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle and High School has always been Inspiring, Teaching and Leading in special education!  That is who we have been for thirty-five years.  That is who we are, that is who we are going to continue to be.

As I was parking my car, and looking for a spare piece of paper on front my front seat, I wrote the words down and went immediately to Maria, Administrative Assistant, and handed her my piece of paper.  It was written in my best chicken scratch, and read, Inspiring, Teaching and Leading in Special Education.  I asked her if she could put it up on the website.  She looked at me and said, “Sure, no problem.” I remained there, unmoving, and she quickly realized I wanted it up sooner than later and she said, “Right now” and I replied, “That would be great, you can do that!” About five minutes later she said, it’s done!

You will notice it on the website and my blog.  These slogans or now more commonly referred to as tag lines, can connect us, motivate, create synergy, define and Inspire us! Inspiring, Teaching and Leading in the field of Special Education is LABBB’s niche; it was not a stretch to find those words as accurately defining who we are.  The inspiration we can thrive on is knowing we need to stay there and continue to lead the way.

I am interested to hear what you think of this. If you have something that is more meaningful, or a defining statement about LABBB that you think of, please share it with me. We can use it on our webpage. For those classrooms creating blogs, each classroom can add a tag line to their individual blog and we will connect all the LABBB Blogs creating a network.

Please let me know what you think, I look for your input, my three words were just captured in the moment and it was meaningful to me, but I am sure you will have your own creative thoughts too.

Patric

2 thoughts on “Inspiring, Teaching and Leading!

    Joe Brescia said:
    September 11, 2010 at 3:45 am

    I get what it is I think your trying to convey, you might think that inspiring to complete a fair contract would for many professionals be a leadership moment

    Janet Coppola said:
    September 11, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Nice thoughts… to inspire is such a positive challenge! It reminds me to keep a positive attitude and to strive to work in cooperation with my team! Janet.

Leave a Reply

