What is Twitter? Should I Try it?

Posted on Updated on


If you are a person who does not understand what Twitter is all about, I can understand, I was there.  Unfortunately, I missed time utilizing this resource because I was unfamiliar with its use and function.  Then, a few years ago I started a few accounts and just learned how to follow people who had similar interests; one account was for educational practices and another for a hobby.  At first it was difficult because I didn’t know how to get started finding these resources.  That changed very quickly and before I knew it I was learning and acquiring useful information every day that was cutting edge .   I was learning what the world was doing.  Not just in Massachusetts but around the United States, Canada and many other countries.  I was inspired!

Here are some reasons why Twitter might be valuable to you.

1.  Professional Development: I have never used a tool that has been more valuable than Twitter to connect with people who share information, teach, and guide me in learning about skills that can improve my awareness of improving my job.  Teachers, Principals, Superintendents, Support related services, authors and many other school personal use Twitter to share resources.  The resources are endless and people want to share.  It is as cutting edge as you can get and will challenge you.  The playing field is even and there are no hierarchies, you will be following and sharing with anyone you want.

2. Best practices: If you want to know the best practices going on in the world of education, find educators on Twitter who have an expertise you are interested in and follow them, then follow the people they follow, then follow the people they follow etc… and just learn and read about the amazing things they are doing.  It is inspirational.  I wanted to learn about technology and used Twitter to find people who are using technology in their schools.  At first I was overwhelmed and then I was motivated to learn what this was all about.  The “Tweets” are backed by articles, data and resources that come directly to you by following the right people.

3.  Create your own PLN: If you would like to connect with a group on Twitter to share your expertise you can be a leader and will be engaged by creating a planned learning network or being a participant in a PLN sharing a common initiative.  It is fun and you will learn and get ideas that you never knew existed.  Get outside of your environment to gain expertise.  This is a window to the world that we never have been able to experience before.

4. It is quick and easy:  Using Twitter is much more resourceful than having to search multiple webpages or sites for you to get information you need.  It saves time! The best and brightest people are tweeting their best stuff, why not have it come directly to you.  Be a part of their network and hear what they have to say.

5.  Special interests: Find your special interest, hobby, sport, art or anything you find stimulating and become part of a group that shares information about this topic.  You all know my interest in GTD by David Allen, I follow three people on Twitter who practice GTD including David Allen.  It keeps me motivated, gives me tips, sends me articles and updates me on current practices.  I never have to go look for it again, it will come to me.

If you want any information on how you can use Twitter give me a call or send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

